A most incredibly sincere amazed and blown away thank you.

WordPress has informed me that it is Afterwards’ second birthday!

It took me a long time to start this blog. Before I lost my mom I had spent much time writing opinions and sending them out into the internet abyss. And though it took courage, it did not require the amount of mental and emotional energy that this blog would ask of me. Especially that first post.

With her, I lost a very precious source of confidence. Somebody to read my words and tell me they were good. Somebody to tell me that I was good, no matter what. The process of opening myself up here has tested this drying well; but then, it has filled it up.

Sometimes I write regularly, sometimes I don’t have the words to say, sometimes my energy lets me down. I have been blown away by the support I have received anyway; by the trust you show me when you take my words to heart and when you share your own stories with me. Thank you for caring about my words; thank you for considering them to have weight; thank you for being kind and vulnerable enough to let me into your world. Thank you people from 95 countries who have crossed spacial barriers to connect with me from across the planet. It is more than I can understand.

I hope you know how much you help me to heal – your eyes and hearts are profoundly changing my life. Thanks for the adventure.

Image

3 thoughts on “A most incredibly sincere amazed and blown away thank you.

  1. I love reading your blog because I can relate to so much of what you write. For me, I started writing shortly after my mom died – a suggestion from my husband for working through my grief. Writing has helped to me deal with my emotions, connect with people who understand what I am feeling, and heal. Five years ago this past Saturday, I lost my mom. I miss her everyday. Now I am trying to write a book – fiction based on fact – in honor of my mom and to write about all we went through.

Share your thoughts

